Ambassadors of Christ
 
WHAT REALY MATTERS? I was going through an old calendar and I found a date marked Friday, October 17, 2008. Josef was 5 years old and in kindergarten. The date marked was the first day he read a book. It was a happy day for me; my baby has been reading ever since and reads fluently. When I think of being there for such a pivotal moment, and being able to witness this milestone it will forever be etched into my mind. September 7, 2008 Sarah and Josef were baptized; they both accepted Christ as their savior and wanted to be obedient through baptism. September 7 is also my wedding anniversary, wow what a gift from God! Now a day like today, as my anniversary approaches I think about the fact that I will spend eternity with my babies. 

I often get asked the question, “Why aren’t you teaching? You have your Master Degree in Teaching, you should be working!” The thing that usually floors me is the question comes from older Christian women. Why do women no longer see caring for your children or your family as work? Where are the Titus 2 women?  Titus 2:3-5 says “the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanders, not given to much wine, teachers of good things-that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.” Working at home is the most fulfilling job I have ever had! No dollar amount can supplement for the rewards that I reap now, or will reap later. I did choose to further my education, but I also decided to follow my heart to do what really matters to me!

I take what I do seriously, knowing that ultimately I am accountable to God! Sure, times get rough for us, but God is always faithful in His timing! He keeps His promises! God tells me in His word, “Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5) And, He has not!  As God through His grace is transforming my life, He is teaching me how to not set my heart or mind on the temporal things of this world. I can not take a car, house, job or education HOME with me, but I can take my children. Instead He is teaching me, guiding me to “lay up for myself treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.” (Matthew 6:20). 

 
Am I saying that jobs, education, cars and homes are not important? No, I am not! But what I am saying is, if our heart and minds are always on the temporal, we have lost sight! God created us for a greater purpose! When we draw our identities from our jobs, knowledge, education, homes, cars, etc. (cause the list goes on) then we become prideful and distracted! We lose sight of God and who He is, and we distance ourselves from Him.

 

What I am saying is that God created us to live purpose filled lives and to live our lives for Him! When it is all said and done, it will not matter what kind of house we lived in, where we worked, what we drove, or how our homes were decorated. What will matter is if we lived our lives touching the lives of others. Did we serve others? Did we love others as Jesus loves us? Did we forgive others? Did we share the gospel? Were we lights to this world? I don’t want to leave stuff; I want to leave a Godly Heritage. It is my prayer that if you have not accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior, that you would invite Him into your heart today. He will give you rest. Would you like to know God personally? Click the link below and begin an intimate relationship with Your Heavenly Father…..

 
Would You Like To Know God Personally?
 

 



Leave a Reply.